Commonwealth Day

Empire Day was first introduced in Canadian schools in 1898 and celebrated on the last school day before 24th May, Queen Victoria's birthday.

Empire Day was adopted by the UK in 1904 and extended throughout the countries of the Commonwealth.

In 1958 Empire Day was renamed Commonwealth Day, in accordance with the new post-colonial relationship with the nations of the former Empire.

The Commonwealth of Nations consists of 54 countries across all six inhabited continents.

Commonwealth Day is celebrated on the 2nd Monday in March in recognition of shared heritage and culture.

Commonwealth Day themes include:

  • Connecting Cultures
  • Respecting Difference
  • Promoting Understanding
  • Diversity
  • Talking to Each Other
  • Working Together for Tolerance and Understanding